Hong Kong Revises Quarantine Measures, Puts 15 Countries on ‘High Risk’ List

Reading Time: < 1 minuteFollowing a surge in COVID-19 cases worldwide thanks to the more infectious Delta variant, the Hong Kong government has again revised and tightened its entry and quarantine measures from August 20, putting 15 countries on the “high risk” list and upgrading Australia from a low-risk to a medium-risk place.

Arrivals from Bangladesh, Cambodia, France, Greece, Iran, Malaysia, the Netherlands, Spain, Sri Lanka, Switzerland, Tanzania, Thailand, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates and the United States have been upgraded from medium-risk to high-risk places and will be subject to heightened controls. Other high-risk countries are Brazil, India, Indonesia, Ireland, Nepal, Pakistan, the Philippines, Russia, South Africa and the United Kingdom.

By August 20, the above countries’ risk level will be raised, and other countries previously considered to be low-risk are also being revised upwards.

All new arrivals from “high-risk” countries will be required to complete a mandatory 21-day quarantine at a designated hotel before they can travel in Hong Kong. These revised rules apply even to fully vaccinated travellers. For Australia, arrivals will need to quarantine for 14 nights, however those with an antibody test can quarantine for seven. 

Related articles:


Subscribe to our newsletter!

Stay up-to-date with all the latest news, views and giveaways in Hong Kong